Exposition on Twitter

When thinking about exposition on twitter I immediately think of where I did my undergraduate degree, the University of Edinburgh. Having visited their special collections and been involved in their library services I am glad I can keep up to date on their collections and activities now that I have left. There are various twitter pages which are notable when wanting to find out more about the university’s collections. Some of these include:

The Centre for Research Collections @CRC_EdUni

The archives: @euarchives

The Art and Archive page @UoEArtArchives

One further page I would recommend is the Lothian Health Service Archive which collects, preserves, catalogues and promotes the historically important records of the NHS hospitals and other health material. The collection is housed in the University of Edinburgh centre for research collections. Its twitter handle is @lhsaeul they also have a great website which not only has their catalogues but has information about the standards they use and pages about conservation.

All these departments use twitter excellently however I would also recommend the University of Edinburgh website (http://www.ed.ac.uk/schools-departments/information-services/library-museum-gallery/crc/collections) which has links to all these collections in more depth! (The centre for research collections has rare books… for example a version of St Augustine’s City of God from approx. 1468!… eeeep! *claps hands excitedly).

Leave a comment